God’s Timing- It’s Always Perfect

bless

When Layla was having infantile spasms, I had her prayed for in front of the church. In my heart and mind I just knew if I did, she would be healed and never have another spasm. About ten minutes after we had her prayed for, she had a cluster of spasms. The most I had ever witnessed her have. My heart sank. I did not understand how come Layla was not healed right there on the spot. Now that I look back on this difficult situation, I see that although I wanted her healed right then and there, it was not in God’s perfect timing.

The definition of perfect is this: having all the required or desirable elements, qualities, or characteristics; as good as it is possible to be. Absolute, complete. Wow! We did not have the desired qualities or characteristics for the timing to be perfect. Had God healed Layla right then and there when I brought her to the altar before the church, my faith would not be as strong as it is now. I would have just said “Thank You God for this miracle”, and went on with my life. Living just the way I was. Content. Day by day. I would not have experienced God in all aspects of the situation. I would not have had to completely surrender all that I am, to His perfect will and plan for my life. I would not be the person in Christ I am today. I totally fell into my Heavenly Father’s arms like a child who as afraid, anxious, but knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that their daddy would supply all their needs. I was broken down from my place of comfort and contentment, to a place where all I had was Jesus. I was afraid, He gave me comfort. I was anxious, He gave me peace. I was tired and worn from the weight of the situation, He gave me rest. This is my favorite…My daughter was sick with what could potentially take her life, and He HEALED her.

index m

In John chapter 11, Jesus preforms a great miracle, but waits to do it. When Lazarus got sick, his sisters, Mary and Martha, sent a message to Jesus that Lazarus was sick. When Jesus got the message He waited two days before going to Lazarus. Jesus knew He would do a great miracle for God’s glory, and He was not in a hurry. When Jesus arrived, Lazarus had been dead four days. When Jesus went to the tomb of Lazarus with Mary, Martha, and the others who were mourning, He asked them to remove the stone that covered the tomb. Jesus looked up to Heaven and prayed to His Father, closing with “Lazarus, come forth.” (John 11:43 KJV). Jesus had raised Lazarus from the dead after he had been dead four days! As a result of this miracle, many people put their faith in Jesus. A great example of how God’s timing is always perfect.

ecclesiastes

James 1:2-4 NIV says this on the trials we face: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” Sometimes when we ask God for the easy way out we do not get it. We face trials in our lives to shape us as Christians, help us grow in our relationship with God and bring glory to His name.

At that moment in front of the church, was not God’s perfect time to heal my daughter. We had to face this trial to make us mature and complete followers of Christ lacking nothing, as stated in James 1:4. In order for Layla to live the Christ-centered life she is called for, she needed two spiritually “healed” parents. In the journey we had to take, not only did Layla get healed, but so did we.

There is a reason for every season in life. Just trust in God who will never leave you alone and trust with faith that He will work out whatever you may be going through for your good and in His perfect time.

Remember……
keep calm

Feel free to leave a comment! I would love to hear your stories!!

Leave a Reply

