Isaiah 53:5

I know I write a lot about my daughter and her healing, but I feel led to do so. Her testimony is also mine. It’s my job as her mother to spread the good news and tell of Gods marvelous works in her until she is able to testify on her own. It’s also my job as a follower of Christ. If I can make you just think, then I have accomplished something.

Isaiah 53:5 is a powerful verse on what Christ endured for us. This verse was often placed on my heart while Layla was sick, after we got her final results, and even until this very moment. I recently used a scripture study tool called verse mapping to further study this verse. Verse mapping allows you to break down a certain verse to personalize it, study each word/phrase that sticks out to you and look up other translations to get a deeper, more personal and intimate meaning. This method will help you hide God’s word in your heart. It definitely helps me remember scripture easier!

Here is my verse mapping of Isaiah 53:5

20141111_150501

See what verse mapping did to this verse? We already have a powerful verse, but when researched and personalized, it becomes life changing.

Since I personalized this verse for my daughter, I will use her in this study. Isaiah 53:5 tells us that Jesus was wounded, pierced for our sins and wrong doing. Pierced, according to the dictionary, means sharped, pointed object going into or through something. In this case, that something is my sweet Jesus. While Jesus was hanging on the cross, John 19:34 says “But one of the soldiers with a spear pierced his side, and forthwith came there out blood and water.” (KJV). Isaiah 53:5 goes on to say, “he was bruised for our iniquities”. A bruise is a skin discoloration, the result of an injury. John 19:1-3 (NIV) says, “Then Pilate took Jesus and had him flogged. The soldiers twisted together a crown of thorns and put it on his head. They clothed him in a purple robe and went up to him again and again, saying, ‘Hail, king of the Jews!’ And they struck him in the face.” They beat Jesus leaving marks and bruises. He endured this for our immoral behavior, our wickedness. As we continue with Isiah 53:5, it goes on to say, “the chastisement of our peace was upon him”. Chastisement means pain inflicted for punishment and correction. For us to have peace, Jesus had to endure extreme, inhumane amounts of pain and suffering. The last part of the verse says, “and with his stripes we are healed.” Other translations replaces stripes with “scourging” (NASB) or “whipped” (NIV). In a scourging, a soldier used a whip consisting of leather straps embedded with metal and glass fragments with small metal balls sewn into the end of each thong. They struck my sweet Jesus with this, ripping His skin and exposing His muscles and possibly bones.

He endured this so we could be healed. Healed means to become sound or healthy again. To restore to health. Not only can our bodies become healed, but our souls. Now we can have eternal life in paradise with our Heavenly Father who suffered and ultimately died this gruesome death for you and me. We are no longer in danger of an eternity in hell with Satan if we choose to let Jesus live within us. After everything Jesus went through for an undeserving sinner like me, the choice is easy. He died for us, why not live for Him?

In Layla’s sickness, I quoted this verse over and over. In the end her body was healed, and so was my soul.

I would love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

