Easy DIY Easter Egg Wreath

Y’all!! This is one of the most simple wreaths I have ever made! It turned out so cute!! I have to admit, when I started this project, I was skeptical. I am used to making door wreaths out of burlap, deco mesh, etc. The usual. It is very affordable, costing me only right at $10.00 to make. Some of the supplies I already had on hand. Here is a picture of the finished project, hanging on our door!

download (1)

I found the tutorial on Pinterest. I wish I had taken step-by-step photos of the whole process, so you could better understand what I was doing and how to do it yourself. Hopefully, I can explain it and break it down nice and easy for you! I am going to try my best anyways. If all else fails, go to Pinterest and search “DIY Easter Egg Wreath”, and find the thumbnail of the wreath I tried to duplicate! Here we go!!

Supplies Needed:

Embroidery Floss: I made 20 eggs, so I used 20 individual packs. They are $0.33 at my local walmart! Also, I used Easter colors!

Water Balloons

Sta-Flo: This is a liquid starch made by Purex, and is found in the detergent aisle.

download

1/2 Cup flour

Wax Paper

Door Wreath Hanger

Matching Ribbon

Hot glue gun

Initial (Optional, looks great with as well as without if you do not have one available.)

Paint (Optional, what ever color you choose, to paint your letter to match to your wreath, I used the $0.50 craft paint from Walmart.)

Now for the fun part!!

1. First, blow up 20 water balloons. This was way harder than I thought it would be, but not impossible. Make sure to try and blow them up to be close to the same size. It don’t have to be perfect, but close is always nice! 🙂 Also, you can do more or less than 20, but if you do more, remember to buy that many more individual embroidery floss packs.

2. Mix together in a bowl, 1 cup of Sta-Flo and 1/2 cup of flour until well blended.

3. Un-Ravel your embroidery thread and  loop it into the Sta-Flo mixture. Do this and the next step on  wax paper to contain the mess. Do not just put the floss in without unwinding it first. That causes the floss to knot up and it makes a terrible mess!!

4. Take your balloon, and place one end of the floss onto the balloon. Loop it around, cross it however you want. Be sure to use two fingers when looping the floss onto the balloon to rid the floss of excess Sta-Flo mixture. When finished looping, place on wax paper to dry. Repeat this step for each “egg”.

5.Let your “eggs” dry over night, turning once to ensure both sides dry evenly.

6. Pop the balloon by using scissors, a knife, a pen, or whatever you have that is sharp and handy. Pull out the popped balloon.

7.Lay out the eggs how you will want to glue and hang them. I used 8 for the center and 12 for the outside. The tutorial I read said they used a bowl and lined them up according to that shape.

8. Hot glue the eggs together, according to how you want them to hang on the door.

9. If you have an initial to paint, now would be a good time to do that while the glue is drying, if not, skip this step. You can paint any color, or style. Since I had some extra painters tape here, I decided to do the striped.

10. Use your coordinating ribbon to hang your letter to your wreath ( if you had a letter, if not just loop the ribbon to the wreath) and tie a bow to hang to your hanger!

So easy, and so cute! If it wasn’t almost Easter, I would put this on my Etsy shop!! Feel free to comment any questions, I will be more than happy to help you out! Also, feel free to share this with your friends! I hope this was pretty easy to follow!

Hope you all have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

