Book Review-If I Had Not Come by Nan F. Weeks and Reintroduced by David Nicholson

My very first book review for Harper Collins Publishers and the Book Look Bloggers program! I am so thrilled and honored to share this review with you. This has quickly become one of my all time favorite Christmas stories.

Here is a brief description, and a picture of the cover, and then my review.

Book Description

If He Had Not Come, a Christmas story by Nan F. Weeks set in the ‘30s, asks the profound question: What if Jesus Christ had never come to Earth? David Nicholson provides a refreshing update to this timeless classic, originally included in Cynthia Pearl Maus’ anthology entitled, Christ in the Fine Arts. Through an eye-opening, somewhat bewildering dream, a young boy discovers some of the enormous changes the world would face if Jesus had never come to Earth.

My Review

If He Had Not Come is not your traditional Christmas story. This book takes on a whole new meaning, and gives a whole new perspective to Christmas and the real reason of the holiday. Its Christmas Eve, and Bobby is so excited to go to bed. The next day was Christmas and he was so excited! As he lays down in bed, all he could think about was the story of Jesus, and the five words Jesus spoke in John 15:22 “If I had not come”. Bobby falls asleep, and when he wakes up the next morning, the world is a completely different place. No Christmas, no churches, no safe places for people in need, and the people he did find was angry and rude. Businesses that are normally closed on Christmas are open, and his bible is missing the New Testament. The message of this story is very well written. I know this is a children’s book, but I also strongly recommend adults to read as well. I could not get this story and those five words, “If I had not come”, out of my mind and heart all day and night. What if He had not come? The world would be a much different place. I am SO thankful He DID come!

I give this book a 5/5 stars. It is a wonderful read! This will definitely be a treasured book we will read year after year!

If you want to purchase a copy, you can do so here. I highly recommend it!

 

Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the Book Look Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are honest, and my own.

Leave a Reply

