Book Review-Willie Out West by Rhonda Walker

Good Monday afternoon!

I have another book review for you! This is another childrens book, called Willie Out West, by Rhonda Walker. Here is a description and cover, as provided by the publisher:

Book Description

Young Willie Walrus leaves his ice home to travel on an adventure to Big West, where the town’s citizens desperately need help. Arriving to cheers, he quickly runs into Old Walter, the One-Eyed Whale. Colorful illustrations and action in Willie Out West takes readers to an old West town where the citizens expect Willie to save them. Can he?

                                                 

 

My Review:

Willie is a walrus who is very bored. He wishes to go on adventures, just like his father. He turns on the TV to find the Wild West is being overrun by a mean whale. Then, his wish comes true! There is a knock at the door and its an octopus, who is the sheriff, asking for this brave walrus to come help with the bad, one-eyed whale. Willie travels to the Wild West on an adventure to help the towns people with this big whale!

When I read children’s books, I always do two things:

  1. I try to read with a child-like mindset.
  2. I read them to my kids.

My kids kind of enjoyed it, but it was not a favorite for them. I, on the other hand, did not like it at all. The story was cute and written well, but I did not like how the author told the story where Willie and the towns people used a weapon, (a harpoon), to fight the whale. To me, this would teach our kids to fight with a weapon when they was in troubled, or bullied. I do not think this teaches our kids a good lesson at all.

Other thank that one thing, the book was ok. I think it could have had a good meaning, and lesson, but the author chose to take another route with the weapon. The pictures were good, and the book would be an easy reader for 1st to 2nd grade level. I rate this book a 2 star out of 5.

Disclosure: I received this book free, in the form of an eBook, from the publisher through the Book Look Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are honest, and my own.

 

Leave a Reply

