Just A Kiss-By: Denise Hunter (Best Book I Have Read So Far This Year!)

Product DescriptionRiley Callahan’s plans to reveal his secret feelings for his best friend are derailed when his life is drastically altered in Afghanistan.

Watching the love of his life fall for his brother was enough to send Riley straight to boot camp. But over a year later, he’s officially a marine, and Beau and Paige are no longer an item. When Riley’s tour in Afghanistan is up, he intends to confess his feelings to Paige and win his best friend’s heart once and for all.
But all that changes when an IED takes the life of a comrade and leaves Riley an amputee. Now he’s heading home, injured and troubled. His plans to win Paige are a distant dream. She deserves so much more than the man that’s left. All he can do now is put some healthy distance between them. But upon his return he discovers his family has arranged for him to stay with Paige.
Paige is a nurturer at heart and happy to take care of her best buddy. By all appearances Riley is adjusting miraculously well to his disability. But as the days pass, Paige begins to see that the smiles and laughter are just a mask for the pain he’s hiding. To make matters worse, her job is in serious jeopardy. The animal shelter that she’s poured her heart into has lost its funding, and she has three months to come up with the money needed to save it.
As the weeks wear on, Paige’s feelings for Riley begin to shift into uncharted territory. Why is she suddenly noticing his arm muscles and the way his lips curl at the corners? Will she be able to deny her feelings for another Callahan brother? And will Riley let his heart heal so he can let Paige in?

About the Author

Denise Hunter is the internationally published bestselling author of more than 20 books, including Dancing with Fireflies and The Convenient Groom. She has won The Holt Medallion Award, The Reader’s Choice Award, The Foreword Book of the Year Award, and is a RITA finalist. When Denise isn’t orchestrating love lives on the written page, she enjoys traveling with her family, drinking green tea, and playing drums. Denise makes her home in Indiana where she and her husband are raising three boys. You can learn more about Denise through her website DeniseHunterBooks.com or by visiting her FaceBook page at facebook.com/authordenisehunter

Just a Kiss, by Denise Hunter, is by far the best book I have read so far in 2016! It is the 3rd, and final, book in the Summer Harbor series. I can’t believe the other two slipped by me without me knowing! Definitely have some catching up to do! 🙂

Anyways! This book follows Riley Callahan, and Paige Warren. Riley just got home from his tour with the United Stated Marine Corps in Afghanistan. Riley is returning home with one less leg from an IED explosion. Riley has always loved Paige, even when she dated his brother Beau. He couldn’t wait to tell her how he felt, until the accident. Now he feels half the man he once was. He feels as if he can’t care for her, and make her happy like a “whole” man could. They have been friends for so long, and he couldn’t imagine her sharing the same feelings he does. But, little does he know, she does! Paige loves Riley, no matter what had happened, and who he now was. She understood, and accepted him. But, she also feels like they had been friends so long, there was no way Riley felt the same things she did. Upon Riley’s arrival, Paige took him in and cared for him. The time they spent together, only intensified the feelings they had for each other, but was too stubborn to tell the other. Gosh I could go on, and on with the story lines in this book. I could tell you about Paige’s past, and her family (or lack there of), Riley and Paige’s past, and the present, and the adversities they face to finally admit to each other their feelings, but I would ruin it for you. And I totally want you to check this one out for yourself! So I will leave it there! 🙂

I have to admit. This book frustrated me. Not because it was terrible. But because I got so attached, and drawn to the characters that I put myself in there with them! It was a good frustration! The feels this book gave me…oh my!! It was wonderful!! The plot of this book is consistent, and interesting. I read this rather long book in less than 48 hours. I simply could not put it down. The author has a writing style that is so descriptive, so smooth, and interesting, that it is easy to get lost in the story. It’s easy to read, and picture exactly what is going on. There is not a single moment in the book when the plot was slow. It was consistently wonderful the whole duration. I simply cannot rave enough about this book! I cannot wait to read the first two of the series, and to read her other books!!
I HIGHLY recommend this book. I would give it a 10 stars if I could, but unfortunately the limit is 5, so I give it a 5/5 stars! Wonderful read!!
Head on over to Amazon, buy your copy and see for yourself!!
Disclaimer: I received a complementary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are true, and my own. 

Leave a Reply

