Life After-Katie Ganshert


I just finished what could possibly be one of my favorite books of all time! Honestly, I have never heard of author Katie Ganshert before this. I should say…wow! I was absolutely blown away by her writing in Life After! I was laughing, I was crying, I was having praise God moments. All while reading this one book! Once I got started, it was hard to put down. I even caught myself just reading a page here and there while doing house hold chores! 

Autumn Manning, is the only survivor of a terror attack on the Chicago transit system. Twenty two others lost their lives that day. Autumn struggles with obsession that goes along with survivors guilt. She visits graves, she has a binder with newspaper clippings, obituaries, and letters from a young Reese Elliott. Reese is the daughter of Vivian Elliott, who died on the train that day they refer to as Tragedy on the Tracks. Reese is also dealing with quite a lot. She is a twelve year old who has lost her mother, and other personal family matters. She turns to Autumn, and confides in her to help her through this tragedy. Paul, Reese’s father, is not too fond of this relationship at first, which has its consequences. Reese introduces Autumn to the idea of a tribute, through a YouTube video of Kay-C Sparks. Autumn begins a tribute to remember those who lost their lives on the train that day. Autumn, with the help of her therapist, believes this will help bring a sense of closure to her. She believes it will help diminish the need to obsess over the dead, and help her to move forward while facing her fears. Paul approaches Autumn and allows Reese to help, since Autumn is the only person Reese will talk to. Together with Autumn’s ex-fiancé, Seth, they set up interviews with the deceased victims family members. Autumn lands a job at Redeemer church, which also happens to be the church of the Elliott family. Autumn and Paul develop a sort of a relationship (I will not give details 😁). I don’t want to continue too much farther into their relationship, or other small but important details, as it will give away the story. And you need to read this one for yourself! Just know it’s not as easy and I have written here. There is conflict, confusion, deception, secrets, fights, surprises, and lies that lie in this wonderful novel. There was moments that left me speechless. There was moments I laughed. There was moments I sat in awe and suspense. There was moments I cried. There was moments of wisdom that found useful and could apply in my life. If that is not the description of a phenomenal book, I don’t know what is. 

In my opinion, this book would be a wonderful movie. And I would also love to see a sequel to this book! I would love a book continuing where this one left off! 

As I stated before. I had never heard of Katie Ganshert before this book. But now, I will definitely be checking out her other books! I HIGHLY recommend this book! I rate this book a 5/5 stars! Head on over to the publishers site here and pre order your copy today! Life After will be released on April 18th, 2017. 

***I received an ARC of this book, and the privilege of serving on the launch team, in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed here are true and my own. 

Leave a Reply

